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UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT 
MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA 

ORLANDO DIVISION 
 

In re 
              Case No.  6:07-bk-06553-KSJ 
              Chapter  7 
 
MAHENDRA R. MOOTOSAMMY, 
LILOUTI S. SEECHERAN, 
 
              Debtors. 
_________________________________/ 
 

  
 
 

MEMORANDUM OPINION GRANTING 
DEBTORS’ MOTION TO AVOID JUDICIAL  

LIEN AND PARTIALLY OVERRULING 
CREDITOR’S OBJECTION TO 

 DEBTORS’ EXEMPTIONS 
 

 On October 4, 2007, L.W.T., Inc. (“LWT”) 
obtained a Final Judgment against one of the debtors, 
Mahendra Mootosammy, in the amount of $8,399.28.  
LWT promptly recorded the judgment with the 
Florida Secretary of State and, on November 20, 
2007, levied upon the debtors’ otherwise 
unencumbered vehicle, a 2006 Ford Ranger.  The 
Orange County Sheriff’s Office noticed a sale of the 
truck for January 8, 2008; however, in the interim, 
the debtors filed this Chapter 13 reorganization case 
on December 17, 2007, effectively stopping the sale 
and requiring LWT to return the truck to the debtors 
(Doc. No. 27).   

 The debtors now seek to avoid the judicial 
lien held by LWT (Doc. No. 25).  The debtors claim 
that, because they can exempt $6,0001 of the value of 
the truck, which they value at $10,825,2 LWT’s 
judicial lien impairs these exemptions and is subject 
to avoidance pursuant to Section 522(f) of the 
Bankruptcy Code.3  The debtors contend that, under 
any confirmed Chapter 13 reorganization plan, they 

                                      
1 In the debtors’ Schedule C, the debtors initially claimed 
exemptions of $9,815 in the 2006 Ford Ranger (Doc. No. 
11).  At the hearing before the Court, however, the debtors 
reduced their total claim of exemption to $6,000.  Because 
the truck is titled in the name of Mr. Mootosammy only, 
they are claiming a $1,000 exemption for a motor vehicle 
under Section 222.25(1) of the Florida Statutes, a $1,000 
personal property exemption under Article 10, Section 4(a) 
of the Florida Constitution, and a $4,000 personal property 
exemption under newly enacted Section 222.25(4) of the 
Florida Statutes. 
2 The debtors declared this amount to be the correct value 
of the truck on Schedules B and C and in the Motion to 
Avoid Judicial Lien (Doc. Nos. 11 and 25).  LWT does not 
dispute this figure. 
3 Unless otherwise stated, all references to the Bankruptcy 
Code refer to Title 11 of the United States Code. 

must pay LWT only on its remaining secured claim 
calculated as the difference between the claimed 
exempt amount, $6,000, and LWT’s final judgment 
amount, $8,399.28, for a total remaining amount due 
under LWT’s lien of approximately $2,399.28, plus 
any post-judgment interest and costs accruing prior to 
the filing of this bankruptcy case. 

 LWT opposes the avoidance of its judicial 
lien and objects to the debtors’ claim of exemptions 
making two arguments.4  First, the creditor contends 
that the debtors waived their right to claim any 
exemption in their truck insofar as they failed to 
comply with Section 222.061 of the Florida Statutes 
within 15 days after LWT levied on the truck.  
Second, they argue that, if the debtors are entitled to 
exempt any portion of the truck’s value, 
Mootosammy is limited to a total personal property 
exemption of $4,000 under both the Florida 
Constitution and Section 222.25(4) of the Florida 
Statutes.  LWT argument is that the debtors cannot 
claim both the $1,000 personal property exemption 
allowed in the Florida Constitution and the new 
$4,000 personal property exemption allowed in 
Section 222.25(4).   

 The debtors argue that they did not waive 
any exemptions in failing to take action in connection 
with the pre-petition levy of their truck.  They also 
argue that they are entitled to a personal property 
exemption of $5,000 in the truck because they can 
“stack” the $1,000 Florida Constitution exemption 
with the new $4,000 statutory personal property 
exemption.5   

 Section 522(f) of the Bankruptcy Code 
provides debtors with the power to avoid judicial 
liens impairing exempt property. Specifically, 
Section 522(f)(1) provides in relevant part: 

. . . the debtor may avoid the fixing of a 
lien on an interest of the debtor in property 
to the extent that such lien impairs an 
exemption to which the debtor would have 
been entitled under subsection (b) of this 
section, if such lien is--(A) a judicial lien, 
other than [for a domestic support 
obligation]; 

                                      
4 On January 9, 2008, the debtors filed a Motion to Avoid 
Judicial Lien with LWT, Inc., pursuant to Section 522(f) of 
the Bankruptcy Code (Doc. No. 25).  LWT responded on 
January 22, 2008, with its Objection to Debtors’ Claim of 
Exemptions and Memorandum of Law in Opposition to 
Debtors’ Motion to Avoid Judicial Lien (Doc. No. 31). 
5 LWT does not contest that the debtors are entitled to a 
$1,000 exemption in the truck under Section 222.25(1), if 
the Court finds the debtors did not waive their right to 
claim exemptions. 
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11 U.S.C. § 522(f)(1) (2007). 

 Debtors use this avoidance power to remove 
or avoid secured claims encumbering property of the 
debtor that would be exempt but for the existence of 
the creditor’s lien. 4 Collier on Bankruptcy ¶ 
511.11[1] (15th ed. rev. 2008).  The purpose of the 
provision is to provide relief for an overburdened 
debtor and to avoid creditors racing to courthouses to 
place prepetition liens on property that would 
otherwise be exempt.  In re Chiu, 304 F.3d 905, 908 
(9th Cir. 2002); 125 A.L.R. Fed. 465 (1995).  A 
debtor may avoid the fixing of a lien if three 
requirements are met: (1) a lien was affixed to an 
interest of the debtor in property; (2) the lien impairs 
an exemption to which the debtor would otherwise 
have been entitled; and (3) the lien is a judicial lien 
other than for a domestic support obligation.   See In 
re Reichardt, 2006 WL 5239229, *2 (Bankr. M.D. 
Fla. 2006). 

 This case presents a relatively 
straightforward application of Section 522(f).  Here, a 
lien in the amount of $8,399.28 attached to the 
debtors’ interest in his 2006 Ford Ranger truck on 
November 20, 2007, when LWT levied on the 
automobile.  The lien attached prior to the debtors’ 
Chapter 13 filing on December 17, 2007. The lien 
clearly impairs the debtors’ ability to claim an 
exemption of $6,000 of the value of the truck, which, 
but for the lien and the creditor’s objections, the 
debtors otherwise are entitled to claim.  Finally, the 
lien here is a judicial lien arising from a breach of 
contract action and not a domestic support obligation. 

 Pursuant to Section 522(f), the debtors may 
avoid the lien to the extent that it impairs their 
otherwise exempt property. Courts have interpreted 
Section 522(f)(1) to allow partial avoidance of a lien 
where, as here, the debtor’s interest in the property 
exceeds their exemption amount. See In re Silveira, 
141 F.3d 34 (1st Cir. 1998).  In effect, the claimed 
exemption ($6,000) is first applied to the value of the 
truck ($10,825), then the creditor’s lien “attaches” to 
the remaining un-exempt value of the property.  The 
creditor receives an unsecured claim against the 
estate for the avoided portion of the lien.   

The debtors’ contention that LWT’s lien 
should be reduced to $2,399.28 therefore is 
calculated incorrectly.  The impairment is not the 
difference between the claimed exempt amount and 
the lien as the debtors assert.  Rather, the debtors can 
exempt $6,000 from the total value of the truck 
($10,825), leaving $4,825, not $2,399.28, subject to 
LWT’s original lien of $8,399.28.  As such, by 
partially avoiding LWT’s lien and by utilizing their 
full claim exemptions of $6,000, LWT still would 
retain a secured lien on the truck of $4,825 and an 
unsecured claim of $3,574.28.  The issue then is 

whether the debtors can claim the full $6,000 
exemption in the truck. 

 An exemption once claimed by the debtor 
protects the debtor’s interest in property, here a 
vehicle, from creditors. See 11 U.S.C. § 522.  A 
debtor’s claim of exemption is presumptively valid, 
unless a party in interest objects. 11 U.S.C. § 522(l).  
LWT, as the objecting party, has the burden of 
establishing by a preponderance of the evidence that 
the debtors’ exemptions are not properly claimed. 
Fed. R. Bankr. Pro. 4003(c) (2005); In re Petit, 224 
B.R. 834, 840 (Bankr. M.D. Fla. 1998).  Exemptions 
are generally construed liberally in favor of the 
debtor whenever there is ambiguity. In re Stevenson, 
374 B.R. 891, 894 (Bankr. M.D. Fla. 2007).  

Here, LWT raises two objections to the 
debtor’s claim of exemptions. First, LWT contends 
that the debtor waived any right to claim an 
exemption in his truck by failing to following the 
requirements of Section 222.061 of the Florida 
Statutes.  Second, LWT contends the debtors’ 
claimed exemption should be reduced by $1,000 
because the debtors cannot claim both the $1,000 
personal property exemption as provided in the 
Florida Constitution and the $4,000 personal property 
exemption granted in the recently enacted Section 
222.25(4) of the Florida Statutes.  Rather, LWT 
contends the debtors must include the $1,000 
constitutional exemption in the $4,000 maximum 
allowed by the statutory exemption, thereby reducing 
the debtors’ claimed exemptions by $1,000. 

 Florida law controls in deciding whether the 
debtor here can claim both the constitutional and the 
statutory personal property exemption.  Debtors must 
claim exemptions either pursuant to the federal 
exemptions provided for in Section 522(d), or by 
state law exemptions if a state “opts out” of the 
federal exemption scheme. See 11 U.S.C. § 522(b).  
Florida has opted out of the federal bankruptcy 
exemption scheme, and a debtor filing for bankruptcy 
protection in Florida therefore must claim the 
exemptions provided by Florida’s state law.6   

Florida law includes two different ways to 
exempt personal property—one in the Florida 
Constitution and one by a recently enacted statute.  
Article X, Section 4(a)(2) of the Florida Constitution 
provides a blanket personal property exemption of 
$1,000:  

(a) There shall be exempt from forced sale 
. . . the following property owned by a 
natural person:  

                                      
6 FLA. STAT. § 222.20 (2007). 
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. . . (2) personal property to the value of 
one thousand dollars. 

FLA. CONST. ART. X, § 4 (the “Constitutional Personal 
Property Exemption”).  Section 222.25(4) of the 
Florida Statutes provides a personal property 
exemption of an amount not to exceed $4,000 to 
debtors who do not receive any benefit from the 
homestead exemption.  Fla. Stat. § 222.25(4) (2007) 
(the “Statutory Personal Property Exemption”). 

 Because these debtors do not own any 
homestead property, they are entitled to claim the 
$4,000 Statutory Personal Property Exemption.  
LWT argues the debtors’ total personal property 
exemption is capped at $4,000 because Section 
222.25(4) of the Florida Statutes provides an 
exemption for the “debtor's interest in personal 
property, not to exceed $4,000[.]” (Emphasis added.)  
LWT argues the language of the statute encompasses 
the Constitutional Personal Property Exemption 
provided by Article X, Section 4 of the Florida 
Constitution.  Nothing in the plain language of the 
statute supports this conclusion. 

 Bankruptcy courts are required to construe 
statutory language by employing the plain meaning 
or common ordinary meaning approach.  In re 
Paschen, 296 F.3d 1203, 1207 (11th Cir. 2002); In re 
Porter, 182 B.R. 53, 55 (Bankr. M.D. Fla. 1994).  
Furthermore, “laws governing exemptions generally 
shall be liberally construed and broadly interpreted in 
favor of the claim of exemption, and strictly against 
the objecting party’s claim[,]” In re Stevenson, 374 
B.R. 891 (Bankr. M.D. Fla. 2007) (citing Tramel v. 
Stewart, 697 So.2d 821 (Fla. 1997) and Graham v. 
Azar, 204 So.2d 193 (Fla. 1967)).   

 Applying the plain meaning approach, 
nothing in the statute suggests that the statute 
intended to include the $1,000 amount referenced in 
the Constitutional Personal Property Exemption.  The 
statute certainly references the constitutional 
exemption for homestead property but does not 
mention the Constitutional Personal Property 
Exemption.  “Where Congress includes particular 
language in one section of a statute but omits it in 
another section of the same Act, it is generally 
presumed that Congress acts intentionally and 
purposely in the disparate inclusion or exclusion.” 
Bates v. U.S., 522 U.S. 23 (1997) (internal quotations 
and markings omitted). Because the statute explicitly 
refers to the constitutional homestead exemption but 
does not mention the Constitutional Personal 
Property Exemption, the Legislature apparently did 
not intend for Section 222.25(4) to limit any other 
exemption, constitutional or otherwise.   

Indeed, if LWT’s argument were accepted, 
the debtors could not claim the additional $1,000 

exemption allowed in the truck as permitted by 
Section 222.25(1) of the Florida Statutes.  Because a 
vehicle certainly is personal property, if the new 
statute, 222.25(4), acted as a limit of $4,000 on all 
personal property exemptions, then both Section 
222.25(1) and the Constitutional Personal Property 
Exemption would be subsumed with the $4,000 cap.  
Yet, LWT does not make this argument, nor would 
the Court find such an argument logical.  Florida law 
provides at least two separate and distinct personal 
property exemptions: one constitutional and one 
statutory.  An individual debtor may claim personal 
property of  $5,000 exempt (assuming all other 
conditions are met) as well as use other Florida 
exemption provisions relating to personal property, 
such as Section 222.25(1) in automobiles.  Unless 
specifically provided otherwise by statute or 
constitution, each exemption is separately allowed, 
and the exemptions are cumulative or “stacked” one 
on top of the other. 

 This conclusion is supported by a plain 
reading of the statute and with the requirement that 
courts construe exemption statutes broadly.  The 
actual language of the statute—“[a] debtor's interest 
in personal property, not to exceed $4,000”—is an 
unambiguous drafting choice used to provide a 
statutory personal property exemption of any amount 
up to and including, but not exceeding, $4,000.  

Even if the plain language of the statute 
were deemed ambiguous, however, a sister Court 
recently considered this issue and found that, had the 
Florida Legislature intended Section 222.25(4) to 
constrain or limit the Constitutional Personal 
Property Exemption, such a statute would be 
unconstitutional. In re Bezares, 377 B.R. 413, 415 
(Bankr. M.D. Fla. 2008).  In Bezares, the Court found 
that such a cap would constitute an improper attempt 
to statutorily amend the Constitution of the State of 
Florida. Id.  The Constitution of the State of Florida 
prohibits its amendment except by the method 
provided for in Article XI, Section 5.  Id.  The 
Bezares Court concluded that the Statutory Personal 
Property Exemption of Section 222.25(4) has the 
effect of augmenting the $1,000 Constitutional 
Personal Property Exemption by $4,000.  

A debtor is permitted to claim both the 
Statutory Personal Property Exemption and the 
Constitutional Personal Property Exemption for a 
total of $5,000 in personal property exemptions.  
Absent waiver, debtors are permitted to “stack” the 
two exemptions, for a total combined exemption of 
$5,000 in personal property.7  The debtor also may 

                                      
7 Bankruptcy courts have had occasion to review the 
“stackability” of exemptions in the past and found that two 
or more non-redundant exemptions may be added together 
to make a larger exemption. See e.g. In re Rasmussen, 349 
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stack the $1,000 motor vehicle exemption for a total 
exemption amount of $6,000, barring any waiver. 

LWT next contends that, prior to filing their 
bankruptcy petition, the debtors waived their right to 
claim the $6,000 exemption because they failed to 
meet the procedural requirements set forth in Section 
222.061 of the Florida Statutes, which sets forth a 
procedure for a debtor to assert exemptions in levied 
property:   

(1) When a levy is made . . . upon personal 
property which is allowed by law or by the 
State Constitution to be exempt from levy 
and sale, the debtor may claim such 
personal property to be exempt from sale 
by making, within 15 days after the date of 
the levy, an inventory of his or her 
personal property. The inventory shall 
show the fair market valuation of the 
property listed and shall have an affidavit 
attached certifying that the inventory 
contains a correct list of all personal 
property owned by the debtor in this state 
and that the value shown is the fair market 
value of the property. The debtor shall 
designate the property listed in the 
schedule which he or she claims to be 
exempt from levy and sale. 

(2) The original inventory and affidavit shall 
be filed with the court which issued the 
writ. 

FLA. STAT. § 222.061(1) (1995).   

LWT contends that, because the debtors 
failed to comply with this procedure requiring the 
filing of an inventory and affidavit within 15 days of 
the date of the levy, the debtors waived the later right 
to claim the truck as exempt in bankruptcy.  In 
support of its waiver argument, LWT offers only a 
bare assertion that failure to adhere to Section 
222.061’s procedural requirements constitutes a 
constructive statutory waiver, and for support, cites 
one case which fails to support the proposition.  LWT 
has not met the burden needed to overcome the 
presumption of validity of the debtor’s claimed 
exemptions. 

A ‘waiver’ is a legal term of art defined as 
“an intentional relinquishment or abandonment of a 
known right or privilege.” Blanton v. State, --- So. 2d 
---, 2008 WL 657832 (Fla. 2008).  Here, no party 

                                                         
B.R. 747 (Bankr. M.D. Fla. 2006) (finding jointly filing 
debtors were permitted to “stack” the federal homestead 
exemption of $125,000 for a total combined exemption of 
$250,000). 

argues that the debtor intentionally relinquished or 
abandoned his exemptions.  Rather, LWT argues that 
the waiver occurred by virtue of the provision of the 
Section 222.061 and the debtor’s acknowledged non-
compliance.   

Although statutory provisions certainly can 
affect an automatic waiver,8   LWT has failed to 
show that Section 222.061 qualifies as such a 
statutory waiver. The statute does not mention waiver 
or explicitly provide that any waiver will occur if a 
debtor fails to follow the specified provisions.  No 
Florida case gives effect to a statutory waiver of 
exemption where there was not an explicit provision 
of waiver in the statute at issue.  

LWT relies instead on the decision of the 
Florida Supreme Court,  Johns v. May, 402 So. 2d 
1166 (Fla. 1981), as support for the proposition that a 
debtor constructively and permanently waives the 
right to claim any personal property exemption for a 
failure to timely meet Section 222.061(1)’s 
requirements. Johns does not support LWT’s 
contention.  Johns merely confirms the state’s 
authority to enact procedures to specify how and 
when a debtor may claim the exemptions on levied 
property under state law.   

In Johns, the debtor failed to file the 
statutorily required inventory and affidavit forms 
needed to claim exemptions on his car until five days 
after the statutory period.9  The state courts held that, 
because the debtor did not timely claim his 
Constitutional Personal Property Exemption, the 
sheriff’s sale could proceed.  The issue before the 
Florida Supreme Court was whether a statute could 
procedurally alter a debtor’s right to claim a 
constitutional right.  The Florida Supreme Court 
found, although not expressly allowed by the Florida 
Constitution, there was a rational basis for 
establishing a procedure and time frame that 
permitted an “orderly mechanism for the holding of a 
sheriff’s sale.” Id. at 1169.  The Court was concerned 
that, lacking the structure imposed by the statutory 
time limit, a debtor “could [disruptively] wait until 

                                      
8 See e.g. In re Home and Housing of Dade County, Inc., 
220 B.R. 492 (Bankr. S.D. Fla. 1998) (statute at issue 
explicitly provided “failure to make application when 
required [for a homestead tax exemption]. . . shall 
constitute a waiver of the exemption privilege for that 
year”) (emphasis added); Blake v. Miami Jewish Home and 
Hospital for Aged, Inc., 361 So. 2d 797 (Fla. App. 3rd 
1978) (interpreting same statute as Home to reach same 
result). 
9 The creditor levied on the debtor’s car on November 20, 
1979.  The debtor did not file the required paperwork until 
December 10, 1979, and was barred by Section 222.06(1) 
(1979) (a prior revision of Section 222.061) from raising 
the exemption to stop the sheriff’s auction. 
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the day of the sale before claiming his exemption.” 
Id.  Thus, the Court found the time limit to be 
essential: “[w]ithout such a standardized procedure, it 
is difficult to imagine how this constitutional right 
could be effectuated.” Id.  

The Johns case simply does not support 
LWT’s waiver argument. First, the case does not 
implicate federal bankruptcy law or a debtor’s right 
to utilize exemptions allowed under the Bankruptcy 
Code but, instead, in Johns, the debtor was 
attempting to assert a state law exemption to stop a 
state-scheduled sheriff’s sale beyond the filing 
deadline. The Florida Supreme Court merely held 
that the time requirements were enforceable and the 
sale could continue. Second, the Johns Court never 
discusses waiver of the exemption right, finding only 
that the debtor could not untimely interpose a claim 
of exemption to prevent a properly scheduled 
sheriff’s sale.  Here, of course, no sheriff’s sale could 
go forward due to the debtors’ intervening 
bankruptcy filing.   

Florida law is well established that a debtor 
does not waive any exemption to personal property 
subject to a levy, unless and until an actual sale 
occurs.  McMichael v. Grady, 15 So. 765, 768-769 
(1894) (holding debtor “could not effect such a 
waiver by . . . mere negative silence, or failure to 
act”).  McMichael states clearly, “[w]hen [a forced] 
sale is attempted, then, no matter when it may be, the 
[debtor] can call upon the proper courts to apply the 
shield that the constitution guaranties to him.” Id. at 
768.  LWT seems to attempt to distinguish 
McMichael without naming the case.10  LWT could 
not have failed to note the significance of this case, 
which is cited in Johns11 as well as in the annotations 
to Section 222.06112 – the two authorities cited by 
LWT. The Johns Court acknowledged its holding in 
McMichael by first citing that case and then 
refraining from holding any waiver would occur. By 
failing to explicitly distinguish or otherwise set apart 

                                      
10 LWT’s Objection to Debtors’ Claim of Exemptions and 
Memorandum of Law in Opposition to Debtors’ Motion to 
Avoid Judicial Lien states “. . . the Florida Supreme Court 
stated that although it had previously held that a personal 
property exemption claim . . . could not be defeated by 
laches . . . these decisions were prior to the enactment of 
Section 222.06(1).“ (Doc. No. 31 at page 6 of 9). The 
reference to laches is clearly a reference to McMichael, 
which was cited in Johns for the proposition that the 
constitutional exemption cannot be defeated by laches. 402 
So. 2d. at 1169. 
11 Johns cites McMichael for the proposition that the 
constitutional exemption cannot be defeated by laches. 402 
So. 2d. at 1169. 
12 McMichael is referenced at note 10 of F.S.A. § 222.061 
(1995) under the heading, “Waiver.” 

McMichael, LWT fails to bear the burden of proving 
the debtors’ exemption is invalid. 

The plain language of Section 222.061 does 
not provide a debtor permanently and irrevocably 
waives forever their right to claim an exemption in a 
later filed bankruptcy case by missing a procedural 
filing deadline after a single notice of levy.  Rather, 
Section 222.061 provides that an untimely claim of 
exemption cannot stop a sheriff’s sale, which is no 
longer a possibility after a bankruptcy case is filed.   

Section 222.061 specifies the procedures 
required to be followed to claim personal property 
exemptions in anticipation of a sheriff’s sale of levied 
property but is not relevant if an intervening 
bankruptcy case is filed before a forced sale had 
occurred. Of course, if the sheriff had sold the 
debtor’s truck before the debtors filed this bankruptcy 
petition, Section 222.061 would have controlled. 
Upon the filing of the bankruptcy, however, federal 
not state law controls, and federal law would preempt 
the enforcement of the procedures set forth in the 
state statute.  For example, consider the situation 
where a debtor filed a bankruptcy case 10 days after a 
levy occurred.  Would Florida Statute 222.061 
require that debtor to file an inventory and affidavit 
with the state court within the remaining five days of 
the state period?  The obvious answer is no, because 
federal bankruptcy law, not state procedural law 
controls, upon the filing of a bankruptcy case. This is 
consistent with long-standing policy for the 
bankruptcy court to construe constitutional 
exemptions liberally in favor of debtors and strictly 
against the objecting party’s claim. See Stevenson, 
374 B.R. at 894.    

The debtor’s non-compliance in this case 
with the requirements of Section 222.061 therefore is 
irrelevant and does not cause the debtor to waive or 
forfeit his right to claim exemptions in his truck.  
LWT has failed to carry its burden of proving by a 
preponderance of the evidence that the debtors are 
not entitled to claim the exemption in the truck.   

LWT’s objection to the debtor’s claim of 
exemptions is overruled (Doc. No. 31).  The debtor’s 
motion to avoid LWT’s lien is partially granted (Doc. 
No. 25).  The debtor may avoid a portion of LWT’s 
lien in the amount of $3,574.28 but will retain a 
secured, unavoided lien in the amount of $4,825 
encumbering the truck.  LWT shall have an 
unsecured claim of $3,574.28 for the avoided portion 
of its lien.  A separate order consistent with this 
Memorandum Opinion shall be entered. 
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 DONE AND ORDERED in Orlando, 
Florida, on March 31, 2008. 

      
         /s/ Karen S. Jennemann 
        KAREN S. JENNEMANN 
        United States Bankruptcy Judge 
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32825 
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Avenue, Suite 3, Winter Park, FL  32789 
 
Chapter 13 Trustee:  Laurie K. Weatherford, P.O. 
Box 3450, Winter Park, FL  32790-3450 
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